Worst states for a first offense
1 (tie) Georgia
1 (tie) Illinois
3 North Carolina
5 New Hampshire
You can end up with a $1,000 fine in these states; maybe worse if the judge is in a bad mood.
Worst state to fight a ticket: Massachussetts
In 2005, a guy tried to fight a $15 parking ticket in Northampton, Mass, and had to pay $319.90 to start the process (which is non refundable whether he won his case or not)
Most unmarked state police cars: Connecticut
State police in this state drive Camaros, Mustangs, Grand Nationals, and other non-traditional cars to bust drivers
Most tickets written: Washington DC
With over a half million residents, DC police write over 430,000 tickets a year.